New Webinar Series on Soil Health in the Western U.S.

Please join OFRF and eOrganic for a series of eight free webinar trainings on organic farming and soil health in the Western U.S. The webinars will target agricultural professionals including Extension personnel, other agency personnel, and agricultural consultants in an effort to increase expertise in organic practices that promote soil health.

As a complement to OFRF's Organic Farming and Soil Health Guidebooks, this series will highlight soil health research and practices specific to the Western Region. The goal is to address the need for region-specific resources and knowledgeable Extension services related to organic soil health, biology, nutrient cycling, and more.

Dr. Mark Schonbeck of OFRF will be joined by experts in the Western Region to review the most recent soil health research and practices relevant to the Western Region. The webinars will provide an overview of the topic, best practices for the Western Region, in-depth analysis of the latest research, and an extensive question and answer session after each presentation.

All webinars take place at 11AM Pacific Time (12PM Mountain, 1PM Central, 2PM Eastern).

October 24, 2018: Ecological Nutrient Management for Organic Production in the Western Region

November 21, 2018: Ecological Weed Management for the Western Region

January 23, 2019: Practical Conservation Tillage for Western Region Organic Cropping Systems

February 27, 2019: Selecting and Managing Cover Crops for Organic Crop Rotations in the Western Region

March 27, 2019: Breeding New Cultivars for Soil-enhancing Organic Cropping Systems in the Western Region

April 17, 2019: Preparing for Drought: the Role of Soil Health in Water Management in Organic Production

May 29, 2019: Meeting Weather Challenges in the Western U.S.: Organic Practices to Mitigate and Prepare for Climate Change

June 12, 2019: Soil Biology for the Western Region: organic Practices to Recruit and Nurture Beneficial Biota in the Soil

All are welcome!

Find out more and register.